Twin Adventures

Twin girls now rule the house.

Photography

on June 23, 2012

I’ve found myself slowly turning into my mother… When I was a teenager, it was such an annoyance that my mom always had her camera out and was constantly taking photos. It seemed as though everyone and everything in our world was meant to be photographed. And not only that, but for every one picture that was taken, ten more of the same thing were taken as well. Did she really need to have twenty pictures from the same minute? Apparently she did. And now, so do I.

Everyday Anton and I take at least thirty to fifty pictures. Not that we’ve come across thirty or fifty picture-perfect moments, because we’ve really only pulled out our cameras two or three times throughout the day; we just wind up taking so many at one time. Trying to catch both girls smiling, or catch them looking at you in a certain way. Hoping to snap a shot where the girls are obviously playing with each or are cuddling the dog in just the right position. It’s hard! And, there’s two of them! So, you’re not just trying to get one baby smiling or laughing, but BOTH of them smiling or laughing. And looking in the right direction. And not drooling. Or making an is-your-baby-retarded face.

One baby looking…                … the other baby looking…                      … no baby looking!

Although, if we didn’t take as many pictures as we do, I’m sure that we would have missed out on some unforgettable faces. If we had to work a little harder for them, or keep clicking just in case, that just adds to how great the picture is. In this day and age, it isn’t as though we don’t have several options for keeping and storing thousands of pictures anyway. We’re fond of Picasa Web Albums (part of Google+). Since we run on Android, it’s compatible with our phones so things are uploaded as soon as they are taken and it’s easy to get them from device to device. We do pay Google for the extra storage, but it’s really worth it.

                Distracted…                        … no smiles…                                … and they’re gone. 

It only recently hit me exactly how many pictures we take, because we’ve been cleaning out our online albums and there is so much to sift through! Mostly starting from June of last year (when the girls were born). Each month has between one hundred and four hundred photos. Seriously. Four Hundred. Who needs that many pictures?! So, we’re going through and getting rid of duplicates or almost duplicates, blurry pictures, pictures that have cut someone out, or where a thumb has made it’s way in from the side (who doesn’t have a few of those, right?).

Shula trying to get down…             …Maretta trying to get down…             …and, dancing. 
Sometimes it feels like we’re getting a little crazy and going a little overboard with all the pictures we have, but won’t it be great to have such an extensive photo library to go through in years to come? I love going through my mom’s albums and seeing all of us kids growing up, but I don’t think she was as much of a photo-nut back then, and there are a lot of gaps in the timeline. Looking back through our albums, we’ve managed to take at least one picture every single day for the past year. I’m sure somewhere down the road we’ll pick some favourites and put together an album that you can hold, but until then what’s better than viewing them on a full size tv screen? Uh.. nothing.
3 responses to “Photography

  1. Mama Mia says:

    hee hee, I have photogaps already too!! I used to wonder why my mom did but I totally get it now. I’m working on #4 after my twins and lonely first born and there are days (weeks!) when the camera just gets forgotten… or more likely “lost” by one of my “helpful” children 🙂

    I was giggling at the lack of perfect twin pictures. I can NEVER get them to both look cute at the same moment for the camera! I’ve managed a few with all three of my kids looking (at least vaguely) in the direction of the camera… I keep telling myself, maybe when they get older!

    • samonnier says:

      Wow. Four… And I thought I was superwoman with just twins!

      It could turn out differently as the girls get older and our routine and priorities change, but I hope that we keep up with our crazy amount of photos every day!

      Thanks for checking out my blog.. off to check yours out!

  2. […] and work on getting a picture with both of them smiling and in focus. If you’ve read my post Photography, you’ll know just how difficult that can […]

Leave a Reply

